top of page

The biggest void

The news of her death came around 2:40 am. It was such a huge shock for everyone. Continuous phone calls from my relatives. I couldn't sleep rest of the night. She was someone who we knew well and her death, it was a big tragedy.

My uncle and his family always arrived late for the family-get-togethers. His wife goes to the ladies side to tell them the reason for being late and their daughter (who's 2 years younger than me) to the kids section to play with us. Aunt always complained that their kid was weak in studies but how she never gives up on her and how she made her study in the car on the way. Her health was weak during that time too. She had breathing problems but it didn't matter to her because she focused on her girl. Uncle's business was booming that time, so their family was financially well settled.

This was the routine during family-get-togethers while I was there in the UAE.

The day before I left the place, they came to meet me. Aunt gave me advice on standing on one's feet and how education is important. That's the one time I really did talk to her. Usually it was just a small hi-bye relationship but that day changed everything.

Two years later I came to know that she was becoming weak day by day. Her constant companion around the house was an oxygen cylinder. She also told her sister-in-law to take care of her girl in case something happened to her. Five days after that I got the news. That night was a tragic one. She fell down and her oxygen mask fell off. She couldn't reach it. Her husband was in the bathroom. Her daughter was sleeping. Before anyone could reach her, she reached the other place.

Last week I met her husband and their daughter for his sister's house warming. The girl came to me, held my hand. Her dad stood there. He couldn't walk properly, he was mentally weak. He kept a happy face when someone greeted him and when they left,tears welled up. The big void changed their lives completely. The kid became motherless again. The father needed all the support. Their kid is the only thing that keeps him going.

The temple still had the bronze statues of the avatars of Lord Vishnu. My aunt donated them as an offering to the lord, one time when she was really sick and was cured completely.

They stand there on the pedestal, unaffected. Every time I go there I'm reminded of her and their daughter.

She kept a strong determined face, holding back her tears. She had to support her old father. For this she had to study, fulfill her mom's dreams. The big void had a huge impact on her. Whenever I meet her, she holds my hand, never letting go. We talk about studies. When its time to go, I hug her and tell her to stay on the right path and not to give up. I know she hasn't. She got her mother's determination.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page